The Taskforce membership is reflective of our role and values and directions.


In promoting collaborative arrangements, the Taskforce has representation from major government agencies involved in blackberry management, policy and research and development. In addition to the agency representation, Taskforce members have been selected to represent the blackberry issues across the various catchment management authorities across the State.


Lyn Coulston
Chairperson, Community Representative North East
As a community member of the Upper Murray Blackberry Action Group and Secretary of the Upper Murray Landcare Network, Lyn is a committed supporter of the community-led approach. She operates a native plant propagation business, is currently the Chair of the North East Catchment Management Authority and involved with a broad range of community organisations in North East Victoria.


Alex Arbuthnot
National Blackberry Taskforce Chair 
Alex is an irrigation dairy farmer from Nambrok in Victoria where he has farmed with his family for nearly 30 years. Alex was President of the Victorian Farmers Federation from 1989-92, during which time the Landcare initiative was expanded to be a national program. Alex is still actively involved in the movement, currently a member of two Landcare groups and a member of a regional Catchment Implementation Committee. He had held a number of directorship and advisory roles, and is currently the Chairman of the National Blackberry Taskforce. Alex was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 1998 for his services to agriculture and Landcare and in January 2005 he was appointed to the Australian Landcare Council representing the National Farmers Federation.


Dr. Robin Adair 
Robin is a research consultant with a over a decade experience in biological control of blackberry. Robin’s interests include natural ecosystems management, wine appreciation, breeding black Labradors and writing scientific papers.


Dawn Parker
Community Representative, East Gippsland 
Dawn has been an East Gippslander since 1985 where the working life was a beef cattle enterprise in the very Far East. She has been actively engaged in the local Landcare group since the late eighties and has expanded that interest to the Network and regional levels. She has a strong interest in fostering a sense of community and people’s belief in their ability to” become the expert” in thoughtfully determining their own directions and responsibilities. Living sustainably within ecosystem resources and encouraging holistic decision making, particularly in agriculture, are two themes that she has hoped to contribute in VBT discussions since she became a community representative in 2008.


Shane O’Loughlin
Community Representative, Northern Central 
Shane lives at Laanecoorie and is passionate about his community.  Shane’s involved in several NRMC sub-committee for the North Central CMA, including the Upper Loddon River Health project, Lower Loddon River Health project, Community Engagement working group, Victorian Blackberry Taskforce and the Invasive Plant and Animal Strategy Regional Working Group. Shane was previously a chair of the North Central CMA Loddon/Campaspe Implementation Committee.


Tony Jarvis
Community Representative, North East
Anthony is a fifth generation farmer at Cudgewa, whose main enterprise is beef cattle. Anthony is president of the Upper Murray Landcare Network and the Victorian Farmers Federation Wodonga Livestock District Council, and Treasurer of the Cudgewa Landcare Group, and a Member of the Upper Murray Agribusiness Group. Anthony has qualifications in agriculture.


Terry Hubbard
Community Representative, Goulburn Broken CMA
Terry Hubbard owns 2100 acres near Flowerdale, where he runs sheep and cattle alongside his tourism business. President of the Strath Creek Landcare Group, Terry is passionate about King Parrott Creek. Each year Terry and the group organise four planting days, at least two fencing days and other weed control activities to help waterway restoration.


Nigel Ainsworth
Principal Policy Officer, DEPI


Ben Fahey
Parks Victoria


Andrew Edgar
Glenelg Hopkins Region